Angel

About two and half years ago my brother woke me at 3 a.m. to tell me that our father had died in his sleep.  He called me today to tell me my cherished Maw Maw had a stroke, and we just learned that this will be her end.  The neurologist says it’s very bad.  And I sit, 1300 miles away, waiting to hear that one of the strongest and best women I’ve ever know has gone.

I remember Myrtle Beach, the Fourth of July and Christmas.  Big hugs and stern talking to when it was needed.  Always knowing that she would be there for me, no matter what.  I remember coconut cake and the best green beans to ever pass my lips.  But most of all, her deep and abiding love.  It was like the deepest well, the widest valley, the tallest mountain and the endless sky.  And it was unconditional.

Fly high, fly free, and please watch over me. You will live in my heart always.

Leave a Reply

